We're using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you're agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more
For more information, go to

Steering group

The first task of the Osteoarthritis and crystal diseases CSG was to develop a small steering group with a range of expertise and knowledge to keep abreast of the current research agenda in osteoarthritis and crystal diseases, talk to our constituency and to foster strategic osteoarthritis research and promote projects fulfilling strategic research goals.


Professor Philip Conaghan (Chair)
Dr Fraser Birrell
Professor Hamish Simpson
Professor Nigel Arden
Professor George Nuki
Dr Ed Roddy
Dr Elspeth Wise
Professor Terence O'Neill
Dr Michael Callaghan
Professor Mike Hurley
Dr Jo Adams
Christine Thomas
Jo Cumming

Ad hoc advisory members

Dr Rose Maciewicz
Alison Carr
Professor Bruce Caterson
Dr Cathy Holt
Professor Martijn Steultjens

Please see the CSG membership list (PDF 64 KB) for more information, including members' principal research interests.

The membership of this committee is not fixed and various members of the OA community will be co-opted at appropriate times, just as sub-committees may be required, for example, to develop a particular study.

We're now

Versus Arthritis.

You're being taken through to our new website in order to finish your donation.

Thank you for your generosity.

For more information, go to
Arthritis Research UK fund research into the cause, treatment and cure of arthritis. You can support Arthritis Research UK by volunteering, donating or visiting our shops.