We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more
For more information, go to

Disease subcommittee

Purpose of the disease subcommittee

The disease subcommittee provides expert advice and intelligence to the charity, evaluates research activity and makes or supports funding recommendations.

The disease subcommittee considers:

  • Discovery research which provides knowledge and understanding of normal and diseased systems that underpin the cause of musculoskeletal disease and management of disease risk, prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure.
  • Pre-clinical experimental research which characterises and progresses early development of therapeutic and prophylactic interventions.

The subcommittee

  • Professor Luke O’Neill, chair, Trinity College, Dublin and GSK
  • Professor Simon Jones, vice-chair, Cardiff University
  • Mrs Susan Burn, Patient insight partner
  • Mr David Chandler, Patient insight partner
  • Professor Iain Chessell, AstraZeneca
  • Dr Mohini Gray, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Maureen Grossman, Patient insight partner
  • Professor John Isaacs, Newcastle University
  • Professor Karl Kadler, University of Manchester
  • Professor David Leon, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Bridget Lumb, University of Bristol
  • Professor Kim Midwood, University of Oxford
  • Professor Ali Mobasheri, University of Surrey
  • Professor Kevin Shakesheff, University of Nottingham
  • Professor John Todd, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Lucy Wedderburn, University College London
  • Mr Colin Wilkinson, Patient insight partner
  • Professor Jane Worthington, University of Manchester

Guest subcommittee members

When needed, experts in specific areas are invited to join our subcommittees as guests. Below are the expert guests from the previous two meetings of the Disease subcommittee:

Pain challenge 2018

  • Professor Stuart Bevan, King's College London
  • Professor Fiona Boissonade, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Susan Brain, King’s College London
  • Professor Francesco Dell'Accio, Queen Mary University of London
  • Miss Oonagh Diamond, Patient Insight Partner
  • Mrs Lynn Laidlaw, Patient Insight Partner
  • Dr Rose Maciewicz, AstraZeneca
  • Professor David Walsh, University of Nottingham

Stacking the odds towards a cure 2017

  • Dr Deborah Cunninghame-Graham - King's College London
  • Ms Annabel Dawson – Patient Insight Partner
  • Professor William Harnett - University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Claudia Kemper - National Institutes of Health
  • Professor Giuseppe Matarase - University of Naples Federico II
  • Ms Maggy Milner – Patient Insight Partner
  • Professor Fergal O’Brien - Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Professor Ian Roberts – University of Manchester
  • Professor Linda Sandell - Washington University
  • Professor Ken Smith – University of Cambridge
  • Professor Brigitta Stockinger - The Francis Crick Institute
  • Mr Simon Stones - Patient Insight Partner
  • Professor Paul-Peter Tak – GSK
  • Dr Jane Taylor - Patient Insight Partner
  • Professor Jonathan Tobias - University of Bristol
  • Professor Stephen Ward - University of Bath    
  • Professor Gerry Wilson - University College Dublin         

Contact this committee

Dr Caroline Aylott:

For more information, go to
Arthritis Research UK fund research into the cause, treatment and cure of arthritis. You can support Arthritis Research UK by volunteering, donating or visiting our shops.